New Jersey County Tax Boards Association
For more information about Tax Sales please click on the link below.
Notice for Tax Search Companies – Please email your requests to [email protected] or Fax 201-556-0581
Property Tax Freeze
Do you qualify for a property tax freeze? Check here
Click here for the Guide to NJ Property Tax Relief Programs
NJ Anchor Program – (Replaces Homestead Rebate Program
$250 Deduction for Senior Citizens & Disable Person
$250 Veteran Property Tax Deduction
Taxes can be paid by check or money order only by mail, left in the secure drop-box in our parking lot (up until 4pm of the last day of the grace period), in person in the Finance Office, or Online by e-check or credit card. Please note for online payments there will be a fee charged by the processor for use of this service. Please mark your envelope: Tax Office
Receipts: Your cancelled check is your receipt. If you do require a printed receipt, please send us a stamped, self-addressed envelope, and a receipt will be mailed to you.
Tax Payment Identification
Please include your quarterly stub along with your check or money order. If you are sending in a payment without the payment coupon from your tax bill, PLEASE REFERENCE YOUR BLOCK AND LOT NUMBERS (and qualifier number, if applicable.) That is the reference we look for in order to properly apply your payment. This is particularly important if you have a different name and/or address on your check than the property you are paying for. Thank you for your cooperation.
Tax Payment Due Dates
Taxes are due February 1st, May 1st, August 1st and November 1st. The tax due dates are set by the State of New Jersey, and the only time the due date may be different is in the 3rd Quarter, if we must wait for the tax rate from the county. By law, we must provide at least 25 days between the date of mailing the tax bill and the due date, so we may have to extend the due date for the August installment. Extension of the due date, due to late mailing is done by Resolution of the Mayor and Township Committee.
We allow a 10-day grace period in case of illness or inclement weather, but please keep in mind that the 10th is not the due date – it is the last day to pay without interest. If taxes are received after closing on the due date, according to New Jersey statute, interest is due. If the 10th falls on a Saturday, Sunday or Holiday, the last day of the grace period is extended to the next business day. POSTMARKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.
Please note that on the day following the grace period interest will be charged to the statutory due date of the 1st, at 8% on the first $1,500.00 and 18% on the remaining balance.
Per Statute 12-146 a Tax Collector does not have the authority to waive interest due on a delinquent tax. Neither does the Mayor or Township Committee.
No Post-Dated Checks
Date your check the date you are writing it, not a future date. This is called “post-dating”, and it makes it impossible for us to deposit your check on time. We are not allowed to hold payments for residents, so make sure that you do not post-date checks. We do not want to have to return it to you.
If you are missing a tax bill, or we do not have a current mailing address, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office. FAILURE TO RECEIVE A TAX BILL DOES NOT INVALIDATE THE TAX OR INTEREST DUE ON THE TAX (NJ Rev Stat 54:4-64)
New Property Owners
As a new property owner in the Township of Rochelle Park, it is your responsibility to be sure you know your property tax obligation. It may take about 3-5 months before the County records your deed and notifies the tax office of ownership change. Therefore, please call the Tax Office during normal business hours to provide new ownership information and your mailing address. A copy of the current tax bill will be mailed to a new homeowner upon request.
Information provided by:
Kathy Sireci, CTC
Assistant to the CFO
Tel 201-587-7730 Ext 2090