Home Public Safety


Motorists Must Yield to Pedestrians

 It's The Law: Motorists Must Yield To Pedestrians
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Law requires that the driver of a vehicle must yield the right-of-way to a pedestrian crossing the roadway within a marked crosswalk, or at any unmarked crosswalk at an intersection.
Simply, this means that drivers must stop their vehicles and allow pedestrians to walk across the roadway at school and pedestrian crosswalks. Pedestrians must also use caution when crossing the roadway, as the law prohibits them from entering the roadway and walking into the path of a vehicle which is so close that it is impossible for the driver to yield.
The crosswalks are easy to recognize by the painted lines on the roadway and all school crossings. Some pedestrian crossings also have black and yellow diamond-shaped signs with a symbol of a person walking. These marked areas should signal to motorists that there are higher than normal pedestrian crossings at the location.
The Township of Rochelle Park has won numerous awards over the years from the American Automobile Associations for its efforts in the area of pedestrian safety, and Rochelle Park continues to make pedestrian safety a top priority.
The Rochelle Park Police Department will strictly enforce the laws pertaining to pedestrians, and a driver who receives a motor vehicle summons for failing to yield to a pedestrian is fined $44 and assessed two points on his/her driverís license.
When driving through town, all motorists should yield to pedestrians and obey posted speed limits. Please remember that New Jersey Law also requires that the speed limit on local roads is 25 mph, unless otherwise posted.

Copyright © 2016 Township of Rochelle Park.  All rights reserved.                                  

Web Site Designed and Managed by "ADR New Jersey, LLC" Need a Web Site? Have a question or comment:
Contact arakowski@adrnj.com   or go to  www.adrnj.com