Home Public Safety

 

Bicycle Helmet Law of New Jersey

 
 
New Jersey state law requires that children under the age of 17 wear an approved bicycle helmet while riding a bicycle. The law also applies to any child in a restraining seat which is attached to the bicycle, or in a trailer being towed by the bicycle.
 
According to the New Jersey Head Injury Association, 40% of all bicycle deaths involve children 14 and under. Bicycle helmets reduce the risk of head injury by 85%, and the risk of brain injury by 90%.
 
A youngster who violates this requirement shall be warned of the violation, and the parent or legal guardian of that youngster may be fined up to $25 for the first offense, and up to $100 for a subsequent offense.

http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/commuter/bike/regulations.shtm
 

Copyright 2012 Township of Rochelle Park.  All rights reserved.                                  

Web Site Designed and Managed by "ADR New Jersey, LLC" Need a Web Site? Have a question or comment:
Contact arakowski@adrnj.com   or go to  www.adrnj.com